God(zilla) Be With Us

Alrighty, I wanna start this blog with making a short review on a movie I watched recently and that has been on everybody’s mind for quite a while now. Of course, I’m talking about Godzilla, the biggest opening of 2014 ($211.588.384 box office as of 05.20.2014). Honestly, I don’t even know where to start when speaking of this movie as I have pretty mixed feelings about it.
One of the main reasons I wanted to see this movie was the participation of Brian Cranston (Breaking Bad, Argo). Trailer of Godzilla completely mislead me in that way, making it look like the actor is a huge part of the film. Really, if you only wanna watch this movie because of Bryan Cranston, don’t even bother – his character dies after like 17 minutes of the film. REALLY? But hold on, compared to this, the role of Juliette Binoche (The English Patient, Chocolat) seems like a spit in the face – I don’t think she makes it past 6 minutes. Wow. Apparently the budget of $160 million was spent almost entirely on special effects. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have any major complaints about acting in this film just because the main roles aren’t played by famous actors. Only Ken Watanabe (Inception, The Last Samurai), who constantly looks confused and lost is making me a bit sad. Seriously, you see this?
Godzilla Ken
What else? I can say the movie was OK overall, I mean the special effects kicked ass and I jumped from my seat every time Godzilla was roaring. However, it did seem a bit slow and I hated the fact they made Godzilla invincible. I mean, he got pretty battered from fighting other monsters (of course he smashes them), then a building twice his size falls on him, but in the end he still walks away in the sea, gracefully as never. From the latest news, I guess I can understand why they didn’t want to kill him – they’re making a sequel (slot machine sound). All I can say is I hope the next movie will not only be great in terms of special effects, but will also be more dynamic and contain at least one famous actor who doesn’t die after 20 minutes of the movie. That’s right, when I pay money for a big budget movie like that, I expect to see some familiar faces!

Please share and subscribe!

2 comments

  1. drewt510 · May 27, 2014

    Cranston was the best out of all the cast. He is extremely underutilized and I think he should have been the main character like the trailers suggests. Good review, Nick.

  2. chicagonick23 · May 27, 2014

    Thanks Drew, as you suggested I’ll write my review for “Days of the Future Past” anyways)

Leave a Reply

